Arlington, Va. – The National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) today announced that Vice President of State Government Affairs Sandra Guckian, M.S., R.Ph., has been named chair of the associate member advisory committee of the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA) for 2014-2015.

In Guckian’s new role, she will be responsible for facilitating communications within and between NASPA’s state pharmacy association members and associate members, which includes trade associations, such as NACDS and other pharmacy stakeholder companies and organizations.

“Being asked to serve in this leadership capacity for NASPA is a real tribute to Sandra’s commitment to state pharmacy issues,” said NACDS President and CEO Steven C. Anderson, IOM, CAE.  “Sandra works closely with our state partners and leads a team of state-level advocates at NACDS who are highly-engaged on vital issues in all 50 states.  We look forward to Sandra’s enhanced role with NASPA in advancing pro-patient, pro-pharmacy issues such as Medicaid reimbursement and expanding the scope of pharmacy practice.”

NACDS has long-served as an actively-engaged associate member of NASPA.  Guckian has served as the NACDS liaison for NASPA since 2010, following her promotion to her current role of vice president of state government affairs.  During that time, she has represented NACDS on the NASPA associate member advisory committee.  Guckian will also serve as a member of NASPA’s program committee for 2014-2015.

NASPA promotes leadership, sharing, learning and policy exchange among pharmacy leaders in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. and provides education and advocacy to support pharmacists, patients and communities working together to improve public health.

“We are pleased to welcome Sandra to the NASPA leadership team,” said NASPA Executive Vice President and CEO Becky Snead.  “I have enjoyed working with Sandra these past four years. Her dedication and perseverance on state pharmacy issues make Sandra the best person to lead the associate member advisory committee for the coming year. I look forward to a great year.”