The Pharmacy Leadership & Education Institute (PLEI) and the Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society selected NACDS Vice President of Pharmacy Programs Alex Adams, PharmD, IOM, CAE, as the recipient of the 2015 Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award.

The award will be presented on Sunday, March 29, 2015, at the APhA Annual Meeting in San Diego. The award recognizes young pharmacists—no more than 10 years into their careers—who have demonstrated exemplary leadership accomplishments.

Adams is responsible for NACDS’ public health efforts, and also explores innovative services for pharmacy within the transforming healthcare system. He also leads the research efforts of the NACDS Foundation, which focuses on pharmacy-based point-of-care testing, medication adherence interventions and pharmacy services following hospital discharge.

Steven J. Martin, PharmD, BCPS, FCCM, dean and professor at Ohio Northern University’s Raabe College of Pharmacy, wrote in nominating Adams that he “…demonstrates leadership in championing the policies and practices that pharmacists can employ to improve the health of the nation.”